BBC Sport | Rugby League | UK Edition

Monday, 13 October 2014

Australia Win the Ashes for the First Time

3rd July 1920                  Australia 21  Northern Union 8        Sydney

Australia won the first test 8-4 in Brisbane then secured the Ashes in the second test 21-8 in Sydney with tries from Farnsworth, Gilbert, Horder, Potter and Vest with goals from Burge and Horder and a drop goal from Fraser. The Lions replied with tries from Gallagher and Johnson and a goal from Gronow.
The Northern Union received some consolation by winning the third test 23-13 in SydneyIn 1922, the Northern Union team representing Great Britain adopted the nickname The Lions and regained the Ashes which would not be lost again until 1950.

No comments:

Post a Comment